Taide’s Weblog

welcome back to school

My Night with Princess Anne and a Bottle of Glenfiddich

leave a comment »

My memory of that night is somewhat blurred. It was a big Fest in Verden, some kind of donnybrook to celebrate the one-thousand-th universar… ahem… anniversary of our home town. We were downtown to celebrate my seventeenth birthday with a bottle of Glenfiddich. Princess Anne lodged five houses down the road, as a guest of the British garrison.

I think it was her because she was Colonel-in-Chief of the Royal Corps of Signals.

The police almost arrested us. I never met her face-to-face. But the princess lodged five houses down the road, only five houses away from my parents’ house. I don’t remember her clearly. I’m not even sure if it was Princess Anne or Princess Margaret. But I do remember the bottle of Glenfiddich. It was the green one.

Written by taide

July 24, 2008 at 6:45 pm

Leave a Reply

