Taide’s Weblog

welcome back to school

History: Verden Police Commander’s Office Status Report

with 5 comments

October 1, 1945, para 5

The occupying forces’ conduct is restrained. However, the majority of the German population watches with growing disapproval an embarassing rise in dubious relations between the occupying force and a certain category of German women who, apparently excited about chocolate and cigarettes, completely discard their dignity […..]

Seven shillings straight in, fifteen shillings up the ***

Seven shillings straight in, thirteen shillings up the ***

Quote from Heimatkalender für den Landkreis Verden,
1990, p. 207.
Photo from Taide’s archive.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi,

    I’s doing research on my grandfather and was wandering if you could help me. My grandfather was Dutch and an interpreter for the British Sharpshooters (3/4 CLY) and is supposed to have been in Verden on the 17th of April 1945. He found information about X 0182… (we have no idea what that means). He got a medal for this and a few other occasions (Bocholt (A 2361, 28th of March)). I saw you have a lot of information about that period. Maybe you have something concering the Brittish? Photos… or maybe there’s something in the Hemat Kalender?

    thank you kindly

    Piet

    piet

    June 8, 2009 at 9:30 pm

  2. Hi Piet,

    thanks for writing. I’ll check my material later this week and come back here then.
    Greetings
    Taide

    taide

    June 9, 2009 at 1:11 pm

  3. Hi Piet,
    not sure yet how far I can be of help, but X0182 refers to a grid square on a map. X.0879 and X.0880 for example refer to territory not far from or right at Verdenermoor or Kukenmoor – see here under 15/4/45 for details. Both Verdenermoor and Kukenmoor are close to Kirchlinteln – you can find both of them by entering them at google maps.
    I’d think that the sharpshooters’ org will have the maps in their archives, as these x-codes were assigned by the British.
    Their website is here.
    The info I have is from family people – I’ve seen no meaningful documentation here yet, and wasn’t aware of sharpshooters operating here. So if you find out more, maybe you can let me know.

    That much for now. I’ll come back if I stumble across some info.
    Greetings, and have a good weekend
    Taide

    taide

    June 13, 2009 at 6:17 pm

  4. […] Some of your posts suggest that you like to wash Germany’s dirty laundry in public – even worse, you aren’t even washing it, you just keep displaying it. You aren’t […]


Leave a comment